Resewing the binding of a pop up book

Regional Heritage Stewardship Program

Applications are now open for our Preservation Needs Assessment, Risk Assessment, and Digital Preservation Assessment programs. Through renewed and expanded grant funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH), CCAHA is able to offer a limited number of subsidized assessments for a significantly discounted cost. Click here to learn more and apply.

Our Regional Heritage Stewardship Program (RHSP) brings vital preservation services to three regions of the country:

  • The Deep South: Alabama, Mississippi, and Florida
  • Appalachian regions of Kentucky, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia
  • The Intermountain West: Nevada, Utah, and parts of Idaho, Arizona, Colorado, and New Mexico

Funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities, RHSP was created in consultation with the American Association for State and Local History, which helped identify these regions as areas with limited access to conservators and preservation expertise.

Over 2017 and 2018, CCAHA conducted in-person workshops, webinars, and preservation needs assessments at institutions across Appalachia and the Deep South. In 2019, these services are set to expand to new areas of those regions, as well as the Intermountain West.

Learn more about RHSP.

Find out about upcoming RHSP programming at our Education Program Calendar. Previous RHSP webinars are available in our Guides & Fact Sheets section.


A statewide archives and preservation program for New York

The Documentary Heritage and Preservation Services for New York (DHPSNY) program is a five-year initiative providing free planning and education services to New York State's collec

Network-building and preparedness for Pennsylvania

The Pennsylvania Cultural Resilience Network (PaCRN) is a series of initiatives to strengthen emergency preparedness at institutions throughout Pennsylvania through training and network-bu